Skip to Content

Presidential Executive Order: Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States


On March 6, 2017 President Trump signed a new a new Executive Order (EO), called Protecting The Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into The United States, that places limits on travel to the U.S. from certain countries, and by all refugees who do not possess either a visa or valid travel documents. The new EO will revoke and replace the original travel ban/executive order issued January 27, 2017. The original EO caused confusion and led to a national injunction in court in federal court.

The new EO affects the countries of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen. Iraq, which was listed in the previous travel ban, is exempted in this order. The new EO adds more classes of people directly exempt from temporary immigration bans, provides for case-by-case waivers and gives people affected by the ban 10 days’ notice before the ban’s provisions go into effect on March 16. The EO also recognizes that all green-card holders, dual citizens and current valid visa holders are exempt from the travel ban, and Syrian nationals are included in a 120-day refugee ban.

Share To:

Contact Verma Law Firm Today

Serving Clients Throughout San Jose, San Francisco & Around The World
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy